A Birthday Catch up Blog

I’m catching up on our birthdays that came and went in November.

First SiSi turned 9!  Thanks to her Aunt Jill she had an awesome cake and had a great party at the park with her cousins from down south. She was my early birthday present 9 years ago.

DSC04356

Then just 3days later Ace and I shared a birthday. She was born at home on my birthday, the best present I ever received. This year has truly flown by too fast. I am grateful for all of my children but I don’t think anyone in my family would disagree when I say that Ace has been the bright spot in a dark year.

DSC04373 DSC04374 DSC04377 DSC04378

 

19 thoughts on “A Birthday Catch up Blog

  1. Wow! You miss so much you don’t pop in now and again. Happy Birthday to you all! Love all of your pictures…including the ones from Thanksgiving. That was a beautiful table. The tree picking day looked like fun as well. Hope your Christmas time continues to be a blessed event. Have a blessed day!

  2. HAPPY HAPPY DAYS!! Yes Ace has been the bright spot! I love that smile. I hope they enjoyed their cakes and I will do it again and again. Miss you soooooo much. Gonna have to make a trip this summer for sure.

    MUAH!!!

  3. Legend has it that Martin Luther began the tradition of decorating trees to celebrate Christmas. One crisp Christmas Eve, about the year 1500, he was walking through snow-covered woods and was struck by the beauty of a group of small evergreens. Their branches, dusted with snow, shimmered in the moonlight. When he got home, he set up a little fir tree indoors so he could share this story with his children. He decorated it with candles, which he lighted in honor of Christ’s birth.

  4. this is just adorable. simply and purely. I have given all of my children the entire cake on their first birthday. They play more than they eat, but they love it.Cheers,
    Slainte,
    December

  5. December’s comment made me remember my eldest’s first birthday cake. It was homemade and painstakingly decorated with love and about a million individual dots of icing by Mrs Hat. She left it on the table while we ran an errand. We arrived back home to find the dog standing on the table eating cake in a frenzy. We saved one ear of the teddy bear shaped cake from the dog. I am not sure what saved the dog. Mrs Hat has always had more compassion than I can imagine. The dog did become an outdoor dog that day though. =)
    You know, that was a horrible day in many ways. It makes a good story when told right, but it is still not funny to me. So many things in our lives are like that. So many things in this year for you will be like that. And do you know what? That’s okay. It is alright for you not to be alright about some of these things. The people who will, with the best of intentions, tell you that time heals all wounds have not been wounded as deeply as you and me.
    I will also tell you, in love, that I still – almost three decades later – I still sometimes pick up the phone to call my daddy. I usually end up head bowed over the phone I am cradling with tears on my cheeks. I do realize that does not sound like much comfort just now. The point is this; when you find yourself overcome by a grief you are told you should be past I want you to remember me telling you that you are not crazy. It just still hurts. You will grow and change and learn to cope, sweetheart, but the empty places in our hearts remain when those who filled them have gone home. That is normal. You are normal.
    I picked up my phone today…and in my grief I thought of yours. I cannot take it from you, JoAnn, but I wanted to tell you that I do share in it. Know that you are loved and prayed over.
    Old Heart

  6. RYC:  It’s an online logging program – you can use it to “assign” things, or just record.  Here’s the link if you want to look at it.  Go to the Plan, Educate, Record section.  I just made General courses & the kids enter everything in that.  (we  used to just write it down in a notebook, then I’d copy it into “my” logbook.)  It’s made things lots easier this year – if I can get everyone to remember to enter their stuff.    Have a great day!  ~Lori

Leave a Reply

