It’s nice and sunny outside right now. I hope that means it is also warm. I’ll have to check that in a bit.

The doctor yesterday was a bit umm weird but I liked that he wasn’t gung ho on having Aly put a steroid cream on such a large area. Plus she wounded herself in her sleep the night before and her arm was super tender. I was bracing myself for him to prescribe Elidel and having to say sorry, we won’t fill that. But he just prescribed some prescription strength hydorcortisone cream which I know is still in the steroid line but it is at the bottom. Then he referred her to an allergist for testing. I have to call and find out when that appointment is.

Co-op is ending in a couple of weeks. The girls have really loved going this year and are looking forward to next year.

SiSi has a Girl Scout meeting today. She gets to learn about horses and earn a badge. No horse back ride though since it is so muddy and wet from all of the rain we have had. She will be bummed. She played her first soccer game of the season last week and their team lost by one goal. We are really hoping she gets to experience a win because her team didn’t get that experience last fall. She has fun either way though and that is what matters. Jorry and I are so not the soccer parent type and it is interesting to watch those that are and how hard they can be on their kids.

<sigh>

I got to take Aly to volley ball without the bottom 3! It was nice to sit and read and take notes without interruption. I like the book I am reading but one thing is bothering me. They often refer to the parents being angry being a result of the kids doing something wrong and that it needs to be fixed. For me I see my anger as something that *I* am responsible for no matter what my kids are doing. Also most often if I think about what sets me off when it comes to the kids, it’s all developemental or a personality trait. I own my own upset. Sure I can see where things need to change so we can all be more successful but it still falls to me as the one who has to be responsible for initiating that change.

Don’t get me wrong, they aren’t making the kids out to be the bad guys and the cause of everything. They address you as the parent up front. It’s just some of the wording reads in a way that could still lead someone to think that “If my kids would only do x,y,z, then I wouldn’t be so angry”

What I did realize when I was reading last night was that I need to be more creative about how I approach things. And I need to LAUGH more!! At what point in my life did I become so serious that I have forgotten how to laugh?

A quote from the book:

“It doesn’t take much character to see something wrong, but it takes wisdom to know how to respond to it.”

Live Out Loud Today!!

2 thoughts on “

  1. “…I see my anger as something that *I* am responsible for no matter what my kids are doing. Also most often if I think about what sets me off when it comes to the kids, it’s all developemental or a personality trait. I own my own upset. “
    I totally agree. Good for you!!

  2. I’m a dork!!!  I realized, halfway to my date night w/ the boys, that I hadn’t responded to your question about a Thurs. night meet-up…  I’m game if you still are!  The T’s are done at the gym at 5:30, so it’ll probably be closer to 6:30 – 6:45 before I could get there.  Does that work for you?  Lemme know!

Leave a Reply

