More on unschooling

I thought I would share about our day yesterday to give a peek into what an unschooling day might look like. Keep in mind each day will be different and for every family a typical day will be different.

First thing to note is the cable and internet were out due to a problem in the area. The girls were bummed about this because it happened right as the newest episode of Hannah Montana was coming on. So they started looking for a movie to watch and wound up pulling out the Little House on the Prairie Series we have.

Jorry and I went to bed with the littles and the bigs stayed up as they usually do. Fast forward to midnight which officially begins yesterday. Aly was still up because it was midnight and not 2am. When I woke up at 7am I found several books on the floor. They were all Native American focused. One on bead work, one about cultural practices in differing tribes that related to being female, and one telling a legend that I cannot find to give you the title on. She had been up reading bits and pieces of each of them.

Not long after I was up the littles joined me. We had breakfast and they played while I started cleaning the bathroom. It was my deep clean project for the day. I got almost completely finished when I was called away. I don’t remember for what specifically but I know that I asked Aly to watch the baby later in the day so I could finish it up.

Aly joined us that morning before lunch which is really rare. She came out, said good morning and sat down on the couch to work on her Chinese. She is taking the class in the co-op they attend.

**One quick side note….the co-op is at their request. If I had my druthers we wouldn’t go. They like going to see friends and since all of these friends school at home it’s really the only time they get to see them.

Ok back to our day. After working on her Chinese for a bit Aly jumped on the computer to play some online games. She found a website called Howrse.com and had signed up a few days ago so she could adopt and take care of a virtual horse. Yesterday she decided she wasn’t going to continue to play on that site because her horse had worms and the only way to get the vaccination is to purchase what is called a “pass”. It costs about $3 per pass and they want a credit card number. So she decided to create a new account at horseland instead. No “passes” needed there.

I fixed lunch for the littles and after we ate we sat on the couch and read for a while. I was hoping they would fall asleep but it didn’t happen.

Somewhere around 1:30pm SiSi joined us. She greeted everyone and promptly jumped on the computer. Aly meanwhile discovered that the cable was still out and decided to put Little House on again. We watched and talked about life then, the different characters etc.

Interspersed through the day are diaper changes, 15minute room rescues,more Chinese, lots of “how do you spell?” from SiSi and lots of play.

The day actually went by faster than I realized and before I knew it it was time to get supper going. The bigs help me by watching the littles. Aly played tag and hide and seek with them. SiSi held Z when she was fussy. I worked to get things going and on the table and before I knew it it was time to sit down and eat.

The discussion of a family movie came up. The girls wanted to rent one from Block buster. It wasn’t an option due to finances this week and so there was some time spent disappointed and upset. I suggested Apples to Apples and at first it didn’t seem like that was going to be an option. However after everyone got over their big emotions we all got together and played a round.

Then the bigs and I spent some time playing Book Worm online.

With the cable still off Aly remembered that I had gotten a History Channel DVD about the Civil Rights Movement. So we put that in and watched it together as a family. The main focus was integration of the schools and the state they chose as the center for the documentary was Mississippi. I am from MS and my girls have lived there a couple of different times. It brought things to life when places they had been and even one city they had lived in were part of the stories being shared.

After it was over I got up to clean the kitchen since Jorry was available to hold Z. While I was cleaning Bourne Supremacy was put in the dvd player.

By the time I was finished Ace was asleep on the floor, Jorry has Z asleep and he was ready for bed. We took the movie out put a Sugarland CD in and the bigs, Emi and I stayed up.

SiSi was playing bookworm and then started playing vocabulary games at freerice.com. Check out the link to it in my side bar. For every correct answer you give they donate 20grains of rice to help end world hunger. Aly was working on her Chinese again, I was knitting and Emi was cutting up some poster board and using a stencil to make something for Ace and Z.

Emi finally fell asleep while watching the American Girl movie “Molly” It is set in the 1940’s during WWII. Great conversations about making do with what you have etc. I’m not sure our country has experienced such a time of conservation and working together as it did during WWII.

Since Z has cold I slept in the living room with her so the air conditioning in our room wouldn’t aggravate her congestion.

When I fell asleep Aly was doing her laundry and SiSi was playing a game of Quiddler Solitaire…at least I think she was, I was very sleepy.

Since I can’t remember everything in order I will list other things that went on. The bigs took care of their meals themselves, eating when they were hungry etc. SiSi chatted on line, honing typing and spelling skills, she chatted on the phone with a friend and worked on cleaning her room. Aly continued reading the 6th Harry Potter book, Emi and Ace played pretend with babies, played outside, picked green tomatoes off the vine and ran races in the back yard.

Team work happened, meltdowns occurred, disagreements popped up and were worked through. We lived and we learned and will do so again today and it may look similar but it will for sure be different.

7 thoughts on “More on unschooling

  1. Very cool read. I am sick today. I told my kids as long as they do some readin, ritin and rithmetic in some way on their own, they are good to go. So, they are. 😉 We usually wind up with some sort of eclectic mix around here. I do have to have an official bed time though. Unfortunately, 2 of my step kids are in public school until Dec., so they have to get into bed at a decent time.

  2. Sounds like an interesting day. My sisters and I are homeschooled and we have a very structured amount of school we must do in a week so it’s interesting to read about this. I play howrse too, by the way. I’m ‘Legossi’ on there as well, and yes, you do need to vaccinate your horse, but no, it doesn’t cost passes. It only costs 75e (E being Equus the currency of howrse which you get by having a ‘job). Perhaps she wasn’t looking in the right place? =)

  3. So interesting. I love reading about your days. Remind me how old everyone is again. I forget the ages of the “littles”. I have lots of questions for you about breastfeeding on demand. I am trying to read up on it because we have always done the schedule thing, but I always dry up around 8 months. I am just about willing to do anything to keep that from happening this time. I’ll email you the saga and all my questions tho. Hope you have another great day!

  4. RYC:I was soo scared that DSC would be angry with me about our new kitty.He wasn’t.. I am sure that thoughts of $$$$$ went through his head as another cat mean double food and litter… but.. our Milo is bored .. he needs someone to mess with and I just pray they get along

Leave a Reply

