How Do I Love Thee?

DSC01297.JPG

Let me count the ways.

I love you when I crave hummus and you whip those beans into shape.

I love you when there are onions lining up to try and make me cry and you chop them down to size.

I love you when you chop the kale to pieces so I can add it to my green smoothie without fear of blowing up yet another blender.

And I loved you today when I made cabbage and potato soup. If it were not for you my knuckles would have been raw from hand shredding 4cups worth of cabbage.

Cabbage and Potato Soup

(recipe found at http://southernfood.about.com)

1/2cup chopped onion

3tablespoons butter

3tablespoons all purpose flour

4cups coarsely shredded cabbage

1/2cup chopped carrot( I didn’t have any)

3cups vegetable broth

1/2tsp salt or to taste

1/8 tsp ground black pepper(I added more)

3cups diced potato(peel on…or off if you prefer)

1can (14.5oz) evaporated milk

minced parsley

dash paprika

In a large heavy saucepan or dutch oven, heat butter over medium low heat; add onion and cook until golden in color. Stir in flour until well blended. Add cabbage and carrots along with broth, salt,pepper, and potatoes. Bring to a boil, stirring frequently;reduce heat to low. Cover and cook until tender, stirring frequently, about 20minutes. Add milk. Heat through, but do not boil. Taste and adjust seasonings, adding more salt and pepper, as needed. Sprinkle each serving with a little parsley and a dash of paprika.

Unlike my previous cauliflower soup fail, this soup was a success.

I would like to thank my mom for my Cuisinart Handy Prep. She gifted me with a brand new one after I asked if I could borrow the one she has in storage. And I am sooooo glad she did.

 

2 thoughts on “How Do I Love Thee?

  1. Even after finally getting a VitaMix (had been lusting after one for years), I still find my Cuisinart works better for chopping, shredding, grating, and pizza dough (so much easier to clean). I love my VitaMix, but I love my Cuisinart, too. They’re my favorite helpers in the kitchen.

Leave a Reply

