I have been working, between keeping small people alive and random housework, on a gift for Ashlyn. She has been asking for a corkboard for the longest time. I was going to buy a new one for her when I found a discarded one upstairs in the weird nook area of our master bath. That’s another post for another day. Anyway, it’s one that Jorry used to use and it was the perfect size. So I decided to look for some fabric to cover it and I would spruce it up with some fabric flowers and add her name to it.  I wound up finding perfect fabric in the remnant bin at Hobby Lobby (judge me silently), and 2″ chipboard letters that were on sale.

I started by cutting the fabric so it was slightly bigger than the board but not much. Then I took a flat head screw driver and started stuffing the fabric under the edging on the cork board.

2014-11-04 09.33.11

I painted the letters pink and super glued them to the board.

2014-11-04 09.33.18

2014-11-04 09.56.49

Once that was complete I started on the flowers. Back in April my mom gave me a rug and it came in this really cool burlap bag. A couple of sections have a chevron pattern on it. So I cut those sections out and used them as the base for the flowers and then used some of the leftover fabric for the board as the second section of the flowers.

2014-11-04 10.01.44

I decided to do three flowers, medium, small, and extra small. I super glued them in the corner after contemplating for far too long on how they should be positioned. Oh and the  center of the flowers are old buttons that my grandmother gave to me. I love having little memories of family in the things that I make.

2014-11-04 17.45.04

After looking at it for a little bit I decided that the letters blend in too much with the fabric. So, to remedy that I am going to add some white polka dots to the letters. All in all I am super happy with the way it turned out and I think she will be thrilled to finally have her own cork board.

Ok, now for my list of ten things that I am thankful for.

1. Projects that turn out well

2. The bills are paid for the month

3. Food to eat.

4. Zumba with Casey. He’s a great instructor!

5. My 1950s Singer sewing machine. It was my great grandmother’s and I use it often.

6. The change of seasons. It reminds me to enjoy what I have and to hold on when things are rough.

7. Fabric…..I have a lot of it and it makes me happy.

8. Yoga pants.

9.  Little girl giggles.

10. Another day.

One thought on “

Leave a Reply

