Epic Mother’s Day

Today was one of the best Mother’s Day I’ve ever had. The morning started of quiet with just me, the dog, coffee and the laundry I’m ignoring. 


The not so little, little girls woke up and presented me with cards and gifts. So super sweet. My new turtle charm will find a home on my desk at work. And a girl can never have too many kettle bells. 😉



After breakfast we packed up to head over to Terre Haute to have lunch with my oldest. She made grilled chicken salads that were so yummy and the perfect fuel for our hike! 

Yep, I wanted to hike with my girls today and I got my wish minus one. SiSi had to work so she missed out. I promise she wasn’t upset though. She hates nature. 😉

We chose Turkey Run state park. Today’s hike means I get to check off another state park on my 2017 hiking goal, plus add mileage toward my 150mile goal. 

I had planned to hike the easier trails but Alyssa felt that the girls could handle trail three which was labeled rugged. She had hiked it a few times before so I trusted she knew what she was talking about. 

I have never been more proud of my girls! They hiked that trail with no complaints and almost non stop. There were narrow cliff edges to navigate, creek beds to wade through and jump over, boulders to traverse. And let’s not forget the stairs. Holy hell! The stairs!


Turkey Run is such a beautiful state park. If you live in Indiana and haven’t been to check it out! 


Navigating the suspension bridge.



It was crowded heading into trail 3. As we got up to the area where the creek flowed more and the navigating became more slippery it thinned out. 

This was after we made it up the canyon. None of them batted an eyelash walking the edges of the sandstone. 


What has become a traditional shot on my hikes. 

There were a lot of places I would have loved to take pictures but there wasn’t always a safe spot to stop. When I go back and can take more time I’ll try to capture the ledges we walked along. 

We got a break from ledges and running water for a good part of the hike and then we came upon boulder canyon. 


The girls were champs getting through there and when we reached the bottom and turned the corner they were rewarded for their effort.


They were so excited! And this is such a cool waterfall. The area around it is beautiful as well. 

We had a pretty steep climb out of the canyon so Emily and I took a quick break while the other three completed the climb. 

And the rest of the trail……..


We had one wild life encounter. There was a ring-necked snake on the trail. Just a little guy. I’ve never seen one before. 

I can’t forget my random picture of moss…


And our family photo after a very rugged 3miles or so……

We loaded up and headed back to Terre Haute to grab supper before the drive back home. 

When I got home I came in to find these gifts from my 18yo.  Which were so thoughtful. She even let me give her a kiss and hug when I thanked her. Those that know SiSi know what a big deal that is. 


I’m told I have more gifts on the way so I’m looking forward to that surprise in a couple of weeks. 

It was an amazing day!  Checking stuff off of my epic shit list, moving closer to a couple of goals and the best part was I got to do it with my girls. 

Rise strong!

❤️ ya–

Jo-

Leave a Reply

