Well I accomplished more than I thought I would yesterday.

I did a triple batch of pancakes, a batch of banana muffins,one lasagna,and two chicken tretrazinis. All before lunch and before it was so hot outside that they house wouldn’t recoup from the heat of the oven and stove top.

After lunch the littles and I headed off to the city to trade some diapers for a baby bath with a mom from my AP group and then we headed over to another friend’s house to pick up our produce. It is always fun to get the box home and see what is in it for the week. This week there were tomatos,cucumbers, eggplant(purple and white),mushroom,cabbage,and bell peppers.

We had one of the tetrazinis for supper last night and I sliced cucumbers,peppers and tomatos to go with it. Oh and we had homemade biscuits. Of course this meant that I had to have my biscuits with mayo and a slice of tomato on it and everyone else slathered theirs with butter and honey. There is one left over this morning and I am going to slather it in butter and grape jelly. Which reminds me of a story from my youth!

Since my dad was Navy we traveled a lot and would often come home to Mississippi between duty stations. At one point dad was a recruiter so we got live in Mississippi for a year or so. Anyway we would often go out to his parents house, my maw maw and paw paw. Maw maw was well known in the family for her “cat head biscuits” so called because they were as big as a cat’s head. I was well known in the family for sliding up next to my paw paw and taking a cat head biscuit, spreading it with a little bit of butter and promptly adding enough grape jelly to choke a horse. I would usually eat my weight in those things. I remember when the biscuits were no longer a staple at their home anymore. Paw Paw had passed away and maw maw was not standing and cooking as long as she used too. I was sad about it but I just had a thought, I’m not sure the biscuits would have tasted as good as they did since Paw Paw wasn’t there to slide up next too and help me spread the jelly.

Today I may or may not make up some biscuits,crescent rolls and a few loaves of bread. My feet were so swollen last night. Maybe I will just knit today and do laundry.

What ever you are doing today I hope you have a great day!!!

 

8 thoughts on “

  1. Wow! You are the woman! You have inspired me to start cooking and freezing…even though I still have about 3 more months! My dad used to make “cat-head” biscuits for us girls too! Sometimes he would roll them in cherry pie filling and cinnamon and THAT was GOOD!!! Glad you turned that corner…sounds like you are getting so much done! I can’t wait for her to come…make Aly get on here and blog for you and put up pics asap!

  2. @dancinmomma – wow, cherry pie filling on a biscuit sounds awesome!! Might have to hit the grocery store today!!Nothing like making sure this is a 9lb baby by eating heavily sugared items! LOL We will be sure to post pics and such ASAP. Since she will be born at home it shouldn’t take too long for one of us to upload and share. 🙂

  3. OMG woman you make me hungry!! LOL
    RYC : aww I love ya and I never had any sisters or brothers to spoil so… there ya go! Tell Aly sometime w/in the next 5 days.  There is nothing in the pkg for the girls – I’m working on that
    HUGS
    D

  4. Sounds like things are getting ready!  I always tried to have several things in the freezer so John & the kids wouldn’t have to figure out what to fix after a new baby.  Always worked very well!
    RYC:  I’m not sure I’d be fit company tonight, but if I get desperate, I might take you up on it.  I TOTALLY hate this….

  5. I am so hungry now after reading all of that. You are a very busy girl. I am so proud of you.
    You are in my prayers. I can’t wait for word of your new arrival. It makes me smile just thinking about it.
    Of course, I am trying not to worry at all. With moderate to poor success.
    Know that I love you, JoAnn.
    Daddy Hat

  6. Sounds like a lovely day of baking and cooking.  That box of produce sounds divine – yummm.  Are you having a water birth this time?  I can’t decide if I want to set up a tub – or just labor/deliver in my own tub with is big.

Leave a Reply

